Groundwater

Editor-in-chief

Leonard F. KonikowLeonard F. Konikow, Ph.D.
groundwater.eic@gmail.com

Leonard “Lenny” F. Konikow, Ph.D., is a renowned hydrogeologist, having worked for the U.S. Geological Survey for more than 40 years and serving as the project chief of its Water Resources Division’s National Research Program from 1980-2013.

Konikow continues his research at USGS as an emeritus scientist. He studies groundwater depletion and developed one of the first widely used generic solute transport models for groundwater. His research has a long history of publication in Groundwater®.

As a long-time member of NGWA, Konikow has served on the Scientists and Engineers Section Board of Directors. He was the recipient of NGWA’s M. King Hubbert Award for major scientific contributions to the understanding of groundwater in 1989 and NGWA’s Life Member Award in 2013.

In 2001, Konikow received the President’s Award from the International Association of Hydrogeologists; in 2011, he was elected Fellow to the American Geophysical Union; and he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2015.

Konikow has previously served as associate editor and advisor to the editor for Groundwater. He began his editorship on January 1, 2020 and took part in a Q&A with NGWA as part of the start of his term.

NGWA: Accepting the role of editor-in-chief for Groundwater is a big undertaking. Can you tell us about your thought process in accepting the position?

Konikow: I was honored and a bit overwhelmed by the discussions leading up to being offered this position. I feel this is an enormously important job — one that affects the careers of a multitude of scientists, engineers, and students of groundwater hydrology and hydrogeology. It is a great responsibility. However, I also feel that this will give me an opportunity to provide a valuable service to the groundwater industry.

I (recently) looked at the record of who had this position previously, and realized that these were some of the best, most respected, and leading scientists in the field. I will clearly be in good company, though I will have to work hard to match the excellence that precedes me.

NGWA: You have previous experience working with Groundwater as an associate editor (1993-1995) and as an advisor to the editor (1997-1999); can you tell us what you learned and took away from those experiences?

Konikow: I learned that giving a fair and comprehensive review of a manuscript is an important task that takes some effort, open-mindedness, and concentration, but also provides a valuable service to the author and to the readership. I personally benefitted from providing such reviews because I always learned something new and broadened my own horizons as a result of providing the review.

I also recognized the importance of good writing and communication skills, and thereby strived to make my own manuscripts as clearly written as possible — carefully checking for spelling and grammatical errors and clarity of writing and illustrations and getting colleague reviews prior to submitting a manuscript to a journal. If reviewers don’t understand the text, they won’t get your message, and are less likely to recommend publication of the paper.

NGWA: After more than 40 years working with the USGS and leading various research projects, can you tell us what part Groundwater and NGWA played in your research?

Konikow: Groundwater is one of the most important journals for publishing my research results, and I have published a number of articles in Groundwater over the years. When I wanted my results to reach a broad and large audience of groundwater practitioners, academics, and researchers, it was the place to go.

I’ve always felt indebted to NGWA because my career with the USGS got started through my attendance at an NGWA (then NWWA) specialty conference in 1970 on the new field of digital computer modeling — a conference where networking opportunities led to my meeting Dr. John Bredehoeft, a keynote speaker at the conference (and future Groundwater editor-in-chief), who after a time, offered me a summer student position with him at the USGS. Needless to say, I jumped at the chance, and was forever grateful for that fortuitous opportunity.

Executive editors

Charles Andrews, Ph.D., PG
S.S. Papadopulos & Associates Inc.
candrews@sspa.com

Charles AndrewsCharles Andrews, Ph.D., PG, is a senior principal at S.S. Papadopulos & Associates Inc. in Rockville, Maryland, and a visiting professor at the Southern University of Science and Technology in Shenzhen, Guangdong, China. He is a long-time member of NGWA, having served on the Scientists and Engineers Section Board of Directors and as an associate editor of Groundwater (2002-2021), as well as assisting in the organization of several Theis Conferences. He has worked as a groundwater consultant for more than 40 years on a wide variety of groundwater projects in North America, China, and Africa.

He received his B.A. in geology from Carleton College and his Ph.D. in geology from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Ty Ferre, Ph.D.
University of Arizona
tyferre@gmail.com

Ty FerreTy Ferre, Ph.D., is a distinguished professor in the department of hydrology and atmospheric sciences at the University of Arizona.

He teaches courses in subsurface hydrology, hydrogeologic field methods, groundwater modeling, and decision-making. His research interests include improved extraction of information from indirect (geophysical) observations for hydrogeologic applications, the design of monitoring networks, and the development of groundwater models to improve water-resources decision-making.

He was the 2016 Darcy Lecturer, delivering a talk entitled “Seeing Things Differently: Rethinking the Relationships Between Data, Models, and Decision-Making.”

He received his B.Eng. in geophysical engineering from the Colorado School of Mines and his Ph.D. in Earth sciences from the University of Waterloo.

Yu-Feng Forrest Lin, Ph.D.
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
yflin@illinois.edu

linYu-Feng Forrest Lin, Ph.D. is a hydrogeologist at the Illinois State Geological Survey, Prairie Research Institute, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and previously served as associate editor (2011-2016) and technology editor (2014-2016) for Groundwater.

His current research interests include groundwater and surface water interactions, hydrogeological effects on geothermal exchange, environmental impacts associated with geologic carbon sequestration, and numerical modeling for groundwater flow systems.

He is a licensed professional geoscientist and certified geographic information systems professional. He is also a clinical professor in the department of civil and environmental engineering and a research professor in the department of natural resources and environmental sciences at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Lin received his B.S. in water resources and environmental engineering from Tamkang University in Taiwan, his M.S. in civil and environmental engineering from the University of Connecticut, and his Ph.D. in geological engineering from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Laura Toran, Ph.D., PG
Temple University
ltoran@temple.edu

toran-lauraLaura Toran, Ph.D., PG, is the Weeks Chair in Environmental Geology at Temple University. Toran has served as an associate editor of Groundwater since 1997 and published her first paper in a student section of Groundwater.

Her research interests include karst hydrology, urban hydrology, groundwater modeling, groundwater/surface water interaction, and geochemical tracers. She is a Fellow of the Geological Society of America and has served on a variety of review boards and conference organization committees in the profession.

She received her Ph.D. in geology from University of Wisconsin-Madison, investigated hazardous waste disposal for a decade at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, and then returned to academia to become a faculty member at Temple University.

Advisors to the editor-in-chief

Hendrik M. Haitjema, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus Indiana University

Franklin W. Schwartz, Ph.D.
Ohio State University

Allen M. Shapiro, Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey

Book editor

Alan E. Fryar 
University of Kentucky 
Lexington, Kentucky 
alan.fryar@uky.edu

History editor

David Deming
University of Oklahoma
Norman, Oklahoma
ddeming@ou.edu

Discussion editor

Stephen R. Kraemer, Ph.D.
U.S. EPA, Office of Research and Development
Kraemer.Stephen@epa.gov

Technology editor

Mike Gefell, PG, CPG
Anchor, QEA LLC
mgefell@anchorqea.com​

Associate editors

Michael J. Barden
Hydro Geo Chem Inc.
Tucson, Arizona
mikeb@hgcinc.com

Steffan Birk, Ph.D.
University of Graz
Austria
steffen.birk@uni-graz.at

Andrea E. Brookfield 
University of Waterloo
Canada
andrea.brookfield@uwaterloo.ca

Claudius M. Bürger, Ph.D. 
Shell Global Solutions International B.V. 
Netherlands 
Claudius.Burger@shell.com

Daniel K. Burnell, Ph.D.
Tetra Tech
Chantilly, Virginia
Dan.Burnell@tetratech.com

James R. Craig, Ph.D., P.Eng.
University of Waterloo
Canada
jrcraig@uwaterloo.ca

Frederick D. Day-Lewis, Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey, Hydrogeophysics Branch
Storrs, Connecticut
daylewis@usgs.gov

Peter Engesgaard, Ph.D.
University of Copenhagen
Copenhagen, Denmark
pe@ign.ku.dk

Mindy L. Erickson, Ph.D., PE
U.S. Geological Survey, Upper Midwest Science Center
Mounds View, Minnesota
merickso@usgs.gov

Grant Ferguson, Ph.D.
St. Francis Xavier University
Canada
gferguso@stfx.ca

Michael N. Fienen, Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey, Wisconsin Water Science Center
Middleton, Wisconsin
mnfienen@usgs.gov

Daren C. Gooddy, Ph.D.
British Geological Survey
United Kingdom
dcg@bgs.ac.uk

Nico Goldscheider, Ph.D. 
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology 
Karlsruhe, Germany 
goldscheider@kit.edu

Weixing Guo, Ph.D.
Groundwater Tek Inc.
Naples, Florida
wguo@groundwatertek.com

Zhilin Guo, Ph.D.
Southern University of Science and Technology
Shenzhen, China
guozl@sustech.edu.cn

John H. Guswa, Ph.D.
JG Environmental Inc.
Boxborough, Massachusetts 
Jguswa@jgenvironmental.com

David John Hart 
Wisconsin Geological and Natural History Survey 
Madison, Wisconsin 
djhart@wisc.edu​

Ellen Herman, Ph.D.
Bucknell University
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
ekh008@bucknell.edu

Randy J. Hunt Ph.D. 
U.S. Geological Survey 

Scott C. James, Ph.D., PE
Baylor University
Waco, Texas
sc_james@baylor.edu

Todd Jarvis, Ph.D.
Oregon State University
Corvallis, Oregon
jarvisto@engr.orst.edu

M. Wojciech Kawecki, Ph.D.
Saudi Aramco
Groundwater Division
Saudi Arabia
kaweckmw@aramco.com.sa

Eve L. Kuniansky, PE 
U.S. Geological Survey 
elkunian@usgs.gov 

Christian Langevin, Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey
Minneapolis, Minnesota
langevin@usgs.gov

Melissa E. Lenczewski, Ph.D.
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, Illinois
melissa@geol.niu.edu

Shu-Guang Li, Ph.D., PE
Michigan State University
East Lansing, Michigan
lishug@egr.msu.edu

David S. Lipson, Ph.D.
HRS Water Consultants Inc. 
Lakewood, Colorado 
dlipson@hrswater.com

Ganming Liu, Ph.D. 
Bowling Green State University 
Bowling Green, Ohio 
gliu@bgsu.edu​

Bettina Longino, Ph.D.
Arcadis
Clifton Park, New York
bettina.longino@arcadis.com

Kenneth Luther, Ph.D.
Valparaiso University
Valparaiso, Indiana
ken.luther@valpo.edu

Robert G. Maliva, Ph.D.
WSP USA
Fort Myers, Florida
Robert.Maliva@wsp.com

Costantino Masciopinto
CNR-IRSA
Water Research Institute
Italy
costantino.masciopinto@ba.irsa.cnr.it

John E. McCray, Ph.D.
Colorado School of Mines 
Golden, Colorado 
jmccray@mines.edu​ 

Steffen Mehl, Ph.D.
California State University, Chico
Chico, California
swmehl@usgs.gov

June E. Mirecki, Ph.D., PG 
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 
Jacksonville, Florida 
June.E.Mirecki@usace.army.mil

Louis Motz, Ph.D. 
University Of Florida 
Gainesville, Florida 
lmotz@ce.ufl.edu

Francisco Munoz-Arriola, Ph.D.
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lincoln, Nebraska
fmunoz@unl.edu

Jean-Philippe Nicot, Ph.D.
Bureau of Economic Geology, University of Texas in Austin
Austin, Texas
jp.nicot@beg.utexas.edu

Andrew M. O’Reilly, Ph.D.
University of Mississippi
University, Mississippi
aoreilly@olemiss.edu

Frederick L. Paillet, Ph.D.
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, Arkansas
fredp@cox.net

Tom Perina, Ph.D., PG, CHG
CB&I Federal Services 
Irvine, California 
tomas.perina@cbifederalservices.com

Jerome Perrin, Ph.D. 
BRGM 
Orléans, France 
je.perrin@brgm.fr​

Gregory Schnaar, Ph.D.
Daniel B. Stephens & Associates Inc. 
Goleta, California 
gschnaar@dbstephens.com 

Martin H. Schroth, Ph.D.
ETH Zurich
Institute of Biogeochemistry and Pollutant Dynamics
Switzerland
martin.schroth@env.ethz.ch

Marcia Schulmeister, Ph.D., PG
University of Kansas
Lawrence, Kansas
mschulme@ku.edu

Nick Sepulveda, Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey
Orlando, Florida
nsepul@usgs.gov

Craig T. Simmons, Ph.D.
Flinders University
Australia
craig.simmons@flinders.edu.au

Birgit Steinich, Ph.D. 
San Luis Potosi Institute of Scientific Research and Technology Mexico 
birgit.steinich@ipicyt.edu.mx

Randy Stotler, Ph.D.
University of Kansas 
rstotler@ku.edu

Nicole T. Sweetland, Ph.D., PG
Daniel B. Stephens & Associates Inc.
Goleta, California
nsweetland@dbstephens.com

Steve Thornton, Ph.D. 
University of Sheffield 
United Kingdom 
s.f.thornton@sheffield.ac.uk 

Frank T.C. Tsai, Ph.D., PE 
Louisiana State University 
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 
ftsai@lsu.edu

Guangcai Wang, Ph.D.
China University of Geosciences, Beijing
Beijing, China
wanggc@pku.edu.cn

Lichun Wang, Ph.D.
Tianjin University
China
wanglichun@tju.edu.cn

Quanrong Wang, Ph.D.
China University of Geosciences
China

Jeremy White, Ph.D.
Intera Inc.
Boulder, Colorado
jwhite@intera.com

Tianfang Xu, Ph.D.
Arizona State University
Tempe, Arizona
tianfang.xu@asu.edu

Jianwen Yang, Ph.D.
University of Windsor
Canada
jianweny@uwindsor.ca

Tao Yang, Ph.D.
Hohai University
China
yang.tao@ms.xjb.ac.cn

Ming Ye, Ph.D.
Florida State University
Tallahassee, Florida
mye@fsu.edu

Willem Jan Zaadnoordijk
Delft University of Technology
Netherlands
WillemJan.Zaadnoordijk@KWRwater.nl

Jim Zhang, Ph.D., PE
AECOM
Oakland, California
jim.zhang@aecom.com

Yong Zhang
University of Alabama 
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
yzhang264@ua.edu

You-Kuan Zhang, Ph.D.
Southern University of Science and Technology
Shenzhen, China
zhangyk@sustech.edu.cn

Junfeng Zhu, Ph.D.
University of Kentucky
junfeng.zhu@uky.edu​

Vitaly Zlotnik, Ph.D.
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lincoln, Nebraska
vzlotnik1@unl.edu

Mark Bakker, Ph.D.
Delft University of Technology
Netherlands
markbak@gmail.com