Groundwater

Editor-in-Chief

Leonard F. KonikowLeonard F. Konikow, Ph.D.
groundwater.eic@gmail.com

Leonard “Lenny” F. Konikow, Ph.D., is a renowned hydrogeologist, having worked for the U.S. Geological Survey for more than 40 years and serving as the project chief of its Water Resources Division’s National Research Program from 1980-2013.

Konikow continues his research at USGS as an emeritus scientist. He studies groundwater depletion and developed one of the first widely used generic solute transport models for groundwater. His research has a long history of publication in Groundwater®.

As a long-time member of NGWA, Konikow has served on the Scientists and Engineers Section Board of Directors. He was the recipient of NGWA’s M. King Hubbert Award for major scientific contributions to the understanding of groundwater in 1989 and NGWA’s Life Member Award in 2013.

In 2001, Konikow received the President’s Award from the International Association of Hydrogeologists; in 2011, he was elected Fellow to the American Geophysical Union; and he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2015.

Konikow has previously served as associate editor and advisor to the editor for Groundwater. He began his editorship on January 1, 2020 and took part in a Q&A with NGWA as part of the start of his term.

NGWA: Accepting the role of editor-in-chief for Groundwater is a big undertaking. Can you tell us about your thought process in accepting the position?

Konikow: I was honored and a bit overwhelmed by the discussions leading up to being offered this position. I feel this is an enormously important job — one that affects the careers of a multitude of scientists, engineers, and students of groundwater hydrology and hydrogeology. It is a great responsibility. However, I also feel that this will give me an opportunity to provide a valuable service to the groundwater industry.

I (recently) looked at the record of who had this position previously, and realized that these were some of the best, most respected, and leading scientists in the field. I will clearly be in good company, though I will have to work hard to match the excellence that precedes me.

NGWA: You have previous experience working with Groundwater as an associate editor (1993-1995) and as an advisor to the editor (1997-1999); can you tell us what you learned and took away from those experiences?

Konikow: I learned that giving a fair and comprehensive review of a manuscript is an important task that takes some effort, open-mindedness, and concentration, but also provides a valuable service to the author and to the readership. I personally benefitted from providing such reviews because I always learned something new and broadened my own horizons as a result of providing the review.

I also recognized the importance of good writing and communication skills, and thereby strived to make my own manuscripts as clearly written as possible — carefully checking for spelling and grammatical errors and clarity of writing and illustrations and getting colleague reviews prior to submitting a manuscript to a journal. If reviewers don’t understand the text, they won’t get your message, and are less likely to recommend publication of the paper.

NGWA: After more than 40 years working with the USGS and leading various research projects, can you tell us what part Groundwater and NGWA played in your research?

Konikow: Groundwater is one of the most important journals for publishing my research results, and I have published a number of articles in Groundwater over the years. When I wanted my results to reach a broad and large audience of groundwater practitioners, academics, and researchers, it was the place to go.

I’ve always felt indebted to NGWA because my career with the USGS got started through my attendance at an NGWA (then NWWA) specialty conference in 1970 on the new field of digital computer modeling — a conference where networking opportunities led to my meeting Dr. John Bredehoeft, a keynote speaker at the conference (and future Groundwater editor-in-chief), who after a time, offered me a summer student position with him at the USGS. Needless to say, I jumped at the chance, and was forever grateful for that fortuitous opportunity.

Executive Editors

Thomas M. Missimer, Ph.D.
Florida Gulf Coast University 
tmissimer@fgcu.edu

missimer-web

Thomas M. Missimer, Ph.D., is a visiting professor of environmental science and engineering at the Florida Golf Coast University and president of Missimer Inc., a groundwater consulting firm.

He has 40 years of experience in hydrogeology, beginning his career as a hydrologist with the U.S. Geological Survey.  He spent a year at the Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science, University of Miami, and then worked as a consultant for the next 34 years.  He founded three consulting firms and merged or sold each company.  He has been in academia for the past three years.

His current research includes development of wastewater aquifer storage and recovery (ASR) projects using wadi aquifers, the use of natural filtration for water treatment, development of strategic storage ASR projects to mitigate global climate change and for emergency water use, subsurface intakes systems for seawater desalination facilities, the development of geothermal energy resources in the Middle East region using hot-dry rock heat harvesting and combining it with seawater desalination, development of new empirical methods for estimating hydraulic conductivity from grains size distribution, and the effects of dust deposition on soil hydraulic properties.

He is the author of eight books.  He has a master’s degree in geology from Florida State University and a Ph.D. in marine geology and geophysics from the University of Miami.

 

Robert Schincariol
University of Western Ontario
schincar@uwo.ca

schincariol-webRobert A. Schincariol, Ph.D., is a professor of hydrogeology, cross-appointed to the departments of earth sciences and civil and environmental engineering at the University of Western Ontario.

Schincariol previously served as editor and discussions editor for Groundwater® (2011-2013) and associate editor for the Canadian Geotechnical Journal (2002-2007).

His research interests are in physical hydrogeology with a focus on heat transport, low-temperature geothermal energy, permafrost hydrogeology, and variable-density flow.  Typically, projects involve the coupling of laboratory, field, and numerical modeling studies.  He teaches courses in watershed hydrology, physical and chemical hydrogeology, and groundwater flow modeling.

He received his master’s of science degree in geology from the University of Alberta and a Ph.D. in geological sciences from The Ohio State University.  He regularly serves as a consultant to government and industry.

 

Yu-Feng Forrest Lin, Ph.D.
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
yflin@illinois.edu

linYu-Feng Forrest Lin, Ph.D. is a hydrogeologist at the Illinois State Geological Survey, Prairie Research Institute, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and previously served as Associate Editor (2011-2016) and Technology Editor (2014-2016) for Groundwater®. 

His current research interests include groundwater and surface water interactions, hydrogeological effects on geothermal exchange, environmental impacts associated with geologic carbon sequestration, and numerical modeling for groundwater flow systems.

He is a licensed professional geoscientist and certified geographic information systems professional.  He is also a clinical professor in the department of civil and environmental engineering and a research professor in the department of natural resources and environmental sciences at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. 

Lin received his B.S. in water resources and environmental engineering from Tamkang University in Taiwan, his M.S. in civil and environmental engineering from the University of Connecticut, and his Ph.D. in geological engineering from the University of Wisconsin–Madison.

Advisors to the editor-in-chief

Hendrik M. Haitjema, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus Indiana University

Franklin W. Schwartz, Ph.D.
Ohio State University

Allen M. Shapiro, Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey

Book editor

Alan E. Fryar 
University of Kentucky 
Lexington, Kentucky 
alan.fryar@uky.edu

History editor

David Deming
University of Oklahoma
Norman, Oklahoma
ddeming@ou.edu

Discussion editor

Stephen R. Kraemer, Ph.D.
U.S. EPA, Office of Research and Development
Kraemer.Stephen@epa.gov

Technology editor

Mike Gefell, PG, CPG
Anchor, QEA LLC
mgefell@anchorqea.com​

Associate editors

Charles Andrews, Ph.D. 
S.S. Papadoupulos & Associates Inc. 
Bethesda, Maryland 
candrews@sspa.com

Mark Bakker, Ph.D.
Delft University of Technology
Netherlands
markbak@gmail.com

Matthew W. Becker, Ph.D.
California State University, Long Beach
Long Beach, California
mbecker3@csulb.edu

Philip Binning, Ph.D.
Technical University of Denmark
Denmark
pjb@er.dtu.dk

Steffan Birk, Ph.D.
University of Graz
Austria
steffen.birk@uni-graz.at

Andrea E. Brookfield 
University of Waterloo
Canada
andrea.brookfield@uwaterloo.ca

Serge Brouyere, Ph.D.
University of Liege
Belgium
serge.brouyere@ulg.ac.be

Claudius M. Bürger, Ph.D. 
Shell Global Solutions International B.V. 
Netherlands 
Claudius.Burger@shell.com

Daniel K. Burnell, Ph.D.
Tetra Tech
Chantilly, Virginia
Dan.Burnell@tetratech.com

James J. Butler Jr., Ph.D.
Kansas Geological Survey 
Lawrence, Kansas
jbutler@kgs.ukans.edu

James R. Craig, Ph.D., P.Eng.
University of Waterloo
Canada
jrcraig@uwaterloo.ca

Frederick D. Day-Lewis, Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey, Office of Groundwater, Branch of Geophysics
Storrs, Connecticut
daylewis@usgs.gov

Mindy L. Erickson, Ph.D., PE
U.S. Geological Survey, Upper Midwest Science Center
Mounds View, Minnesota
merickso@usgs.gov

Grant Ferguson, Ph.D.
St. Francis Xavier University
Canada
gferguso@stfx.ca

Ty Ferre, Ph.D. 
University of Arizona 
tyferre@gmail.com​

Michael N. Fienen, Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey, Wisconsin Water Science Center
Middleton, Wisconsin
mnfienen@usgs.gov

Daren C. Gooddy, Ph.D.
British Geological Survey
United Kingdom
dcg@bgs.ac.uk

Nico Goldscheider, Ph.D. 
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology 
Karlsruhe, Germany 
goldscheider@kit.edu

Zhilin Guo, Ph.D.
Southern University of Science and Technology
Shenzhen, China
guozl@sustech.edu.cn

John H. Guswa, Ph.D.
JG Environmental Inc.
Boxborough, Massachusetts 
Jguswa@jgenvironmental.com

David John Hart 
Wisconsin Geological and Natural History Survey 
Madison, Wisconsin 
djhart@wisc.edu​

Randy J. Hunt Ph.D. 
U.S. Geological Survey 

Scott C. James, Ph.D., PE
Baylor University
Waco, Texas
sc_james@baylor.edu

Todd Jarvis, Ph.D.
Oregon State University
Corvallis, Oregon
jarvisto@engr.orst.edu

M. Wojciech Kawecki, Ph.D.
Saudi Aramco
Groundwater Division
Saudi Arabia
kaweckmw@aramco.com.sa

Eve L. Kuniansky, PE 
U.S. Geological Survey 
elkunian@usgs.gov 

Christian Langevin, Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
langevin@usgs.gov

Melissa E. Lenczewski, Ph.D.
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, Illinois
melissa@geol.niu.edu

Shu-Guang Li, Ph.D., PE
Michigan State University
East Lansing, Michigan
lishug@egr.msu.edu

David S. Lipson, Ph.D.
HRS Water Consultants Inc. 
Lakewood, Colorado 
dlipson@hrswater.com

Ganming Liu, Ph.D. 
Bowling Green State University 
Bowling Green, Ohio 
gliu@bgsu.edu​

Bettina Longino, Ph.D.
The Johnson Co. Inc.
Montpelier, Vermont
blongino@jcomail.com

Chris Lowry, Ph.D.
University at Buffalo
Buffalo, New York
cslowry@buffalo.edu

Kenneth Luther, Ph.D.
Valparaiso University
Valparaiso, Indiana
ken.luther@valpo.edu

Robert G. Maliva, Ph.D.
Schlumberger Water Services
Fort Myers, Florida
rmaliva@slb.com

Jonathan B. Martin, Ph.D.
University of Florida
Gainesville, Florida 
jmartin@geology.ufl.edu

Costantino Masciopinto
CNR-IRSA
Water Research Institute
Italy
costantino.masciopinto@ba.irsa.cnr.it

John E. McCray, Ph.D.
Colorado School of Mines 
Golden, Colorado 
jmccray@mines.edu​ 

Steffen Mehl, Ph.D.
California State University, Chico
Chico, California
swmehl@usgs.gov

June E. Mirecki, Ph.D., PG 
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 
Jacksonville, Florida 
June.E.Mirecki@usace.army.mil

Louis Motz, Ph.D. 
University Of Florida 
Gainesville, Florida 
lmotz@ce.ufl.edu

Jean-Philippe Nicot, Ph.D.
Bureau of Economic Geology, University of Texas in Austin
Austin, Texas
jp.nicot@beg.utexas.edu

Andrew M. O’Reilly, Ph.D.
University of Mississippi
University, Mississippi
aoreilly@olemiss.edu

Frederick L. Paillet, Ph.D.
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, Arkansas
fredp@cox.net

Tom Perina, Ph.D., PG, CHG
CB&I Federal Services 
Irvine, California 
tomas.perina@cbifederalservices.com

Jerome Perrin, Ph.D. 
BRGM 
Orléans, France 
je.perrin@brgm.fr​

Tim Schiebe, Ph.D.
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Richland, Washington 
tim.schiebe@pnl.gov

Gregory Schnaar, Ph.D.
Daniel B. Stephens & Associates Inc. 
Goleta, California 
gschnaar@dbstephens.com 

Martin H. Schroth, Ph.D.
ETH Zurich
Institute of Biogeochemistry and Pollutant Dynamics
Switzerland
martin.schroth@env.ethz.ch

Nick Sepulveda, Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey
Orlando, Florida
nsepul@usgs.gov

Craig T. Simmons, Ph.D.
Flinders University
Australia
craig.simmons@flinders.edu.au

Birgit Steinich, Ph.D. 
San Luis Potosi Institute of Scientific Research and Technology Mexico 
birgit.steinich@ipicyt.edu.mx

Randy Stotler, Ph.D.
University of Kansas 
rstotler@ku.edu

Nicole T. Sweetland, Ph.D., PG
Daniel B. Stephens & Associates Inc.
Goleta, California
nsweetland@dbstephens.com

Steve Thornton, Ph.D. 
University of Sheffield 
United Kingdom 
s.f.thornton@sheffield.ac.uk 

CLaura Toran, Ph.D.
Temple University
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 
ltoran@nimbus.temple.edu

Frank T.C. Tsai, Ph.D., PE 
Louisiana State University 
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 
ftsai@lsu.edu

Guangcai Wang, Ph.D.
China University of Geosciences, Beijing
Beijing, China
wanggc@pku.edu.cn

Tamie Weaver, Ph.D.
ERM Melbourne
Australia
tamie.weaver@erm.com

Jeremy White, Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey
Austin, Texas
jwhite@usgs.gov

Tianfang Xu, Ph.D.
Arizona State University
Tempe, Arizona
tianfang.xu@asu.edu

Jianwen Yang, Ph.D.
University of Windsor
Canada
jianweny@uwindsor.ca

Tao Yang, Ph.D. 
Hohai University 
China 
yang.tao@ms.xjb.ac.cn

Willem Jan Zaadnoordijk 
Delft University of Technology 
Netherlands
WillemJan.Zaadnoordijk@KWRwater.nl

Jim Zhang, Ph.D., PE
AECOM
Oakland, California
jim.zhang@aecom.com

Yong Zhang
Desert Research Institute 
Las Vegas, Nevada 
Yong.Zhang@dri.edu

You-Kuan Zhang, Ph.D.
Southern University of Science and Technology
Shenzhen, China
zhangyk@sustech.edu.cn

Junfeng Zhu, Ph.D.
University of Kentucky
junfeng.zhu@uky.edu​

Vitaly Zlotnik, Ph.D.
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lincoln, Nebraska
vzlotnik1@unl.edu