Groundwater

Editor-in-chief

Leonard F. KonikowLeonard F. Konikow, Ph.D.
groundwater.eic@gmail.com

Leonard “Lenny” F. Konikow, Ph.D., is a renowned hydrogeologist, having worked for the U.S. Geological Survey for more than 40 years and serving as the project chief of its Water Resources Division’s National Research Program from 1980-2013.

Konikow continues his research at USGS as an emeritus scientist. He studies groundwater depletion and developed one of the first widely used generic solute transport models for groundwater. His research has a long history of publication in Groundwater®.

As a long-time member of NGWA, Konikow has served on the Scientists and Engineers Section Board of Directors. He was the recipient of NGWA’s M. King Hubbert Award for major scientific contributions to the understanding of groundwater in 1989 and NGWA’s Life Member Award in 2013.

In 2001, Konikow received the President’s Award from the International Association of Hydrogeologists; in 2011, he was elected Fellow to the American Geophysical Union; and he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2015.

Konikow has previously served as associate editor and advisor to the editor for Groundwater.

 

Executive editors

Charles Andrews, Ph.D., PG
S.S. Papadopulos & Associates Inc.
candrews@sspa.com

Charles AndrewsCharles Andrews, Ph.D., PG, is a senior principal at S.S. Papadopulos & Associates Inc. in Rockville, Maryland, and a visiting professor at the Southern University of Science and Technology in Shenzhen, Guangdong, China. He is a long-time member of NGWA, having served on the Scientists and Engineers Section Board of Directors and as an associate editor of Groundwater (2002-2021), as well as assisting in the organization of several Theis Conferences. He has worked as a groundwater consultant for more than 40 years on a wide variety of groundwater projects in North America, China, and Africa.

He received his B.A. in geology from Carleton College and his Ph.D. in geology from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Ty Ferre, Ph.D.
University of Arizona
tyferre@gmail.com

Ty FerreTy Ferre, Ph.D., is a distinguished professor in the department of hydrology and atmospheric sciences at the University of Arizona.

He teaches courses in subsurface hydrology, hydrogeologic field methods, groundwater modeling, and decision-making. His research interests include improved extraction of information from indirect (geophysical) observations for hydrogeologic applications, the design of monitoring networks, and the development of groundwater models to improve water-resources decision-making.

He was the 2016 Darcy Lecturer, delivering a talk entitled “Seeing Things Differently: Rethinking the Relationships Between Data, Models, and Decision-Making.”

He received his B.Eng. in geophysical engineering from the Colorado School of Mines and his Ph.D. in Earth sciences from the University of Waterloo.

Yu-Feng Forrest Lin, Ph.D.
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
yflin@illinois.edu

linYu-Feng Forrest Lin, Ph.D. is a hydrogeologist at the Illinois State Geological Survey, Prairie Research Institute, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and previously served as associate editor (2011-2016) and technology editor (2014-2016) for Groundwater.

His current research interests include groundwater and surface water interactions, hydrogeological effects on geothermal exchange, environmental impacts associated with geologic carbon sequestration, and numerical modeling for groundwater flow systems.

He is a licensed professional geoscientist and certified geographic information systems professional. He is also a clinical professor in the department of civil and environmental engineering and a research professor in the department of natural resources and environmental sciences at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Lin received his B.S. in water resources and environmental engineering from Tamkang University in Taiwan, his M.S. in civil and environmental engineering from the University of Connecticut, and his Ph.D. in geological engineering from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Chen Zhu, Ph.D.
Indiana University
chenzhu@indiana.edu

Chen ZhuChen Zhu, Ph.D., is a professor of earth and atmospheric sciences, and an adjunct professor in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs and School of Public Health at Indiana University. He served as an associate editor for Groundwater on two occasions (2003-05 and 2021-22), was the 2006 recipient of NGWA’s John Hem Award for Excellence in Science & Engineering, and was The Groundwater Foundation’s Darcy Distinguished Lecturer in 2021-2022.

Zhu specializes in hydrogeochemistry and has worked on topics from groundwater contamination by uranium, arsenic, and mine tailings, using isotopic tracers to deduce groundwater recharge, and reactive transport modeling to storing CO2 in deep aquifers. His book with Greg Anderson, Environmental Applications of Geochemical Modeling, is used as a textbook at universities around the world.

Zhu has been elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Mineralogical Society of America, and the Geological Society of America.

He holds a Ph.D. from the Johns Hopkins University, an M.S. from the University of Toronto, and a B.S. from Chengdu College of Geology.

Advisors to the editor-in-chief

Hendrik M. Haitjema, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus Indiana University

Franklin W. Schwartz, Ph.D.
Ohio State University

Allen M. Shapiro, Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey

Book editor

Alan E. Fryar 
University of Kentucky 
Lexington, Kentucky 
alan.fryar@uky.edu

History editor

David Deming
University of Oklahoma
Norman, Oklahoma
ddeming@ou.edu

Discussion editor

Stephen R. Kraemer, Ph.D.
U.S. EPA, Office of Research and Development
Kraemer.Stephen@epa.gov

Technology editor

Chris Lowry, Ph.D.
University of Buffalo
Buffalo, New York
cslowry@buffalo.edu

Media Spotlight editors

Jeeban Panthi
University of Rhode Island
Kingston, Rhode Island
jeeban_panthi@uri.edu

Rachel Spinti
Montgomery & Associates
Tucson, Arizona
rspinti@elmontgomery.com

Associate editors

Mark Bakker, Ph.D.
Delft University of Technology
Netherlands
markbak@gmail.com

Michael J. Barden
Hydro Geo Chem Inc.
Tucson, Arizona
mikeb@hgcinc.com

Steffan Birk, Ph.D.
University of Graz
Austria
steffen.birk@uni-graz.at

Andrea E. Brookfield
University of Waterloo
Canada
andrea.brookfield@uwaterloo.ca

Claudius M. Bürger, Ph.D.
Shell Global Solutions International B.V.
Netherlands
Claudius.Burger@shell.com

Daniel K. Burnell, Ph.D.
Tetra Tech
Chantilly, Virginia
Dan.Burnell@tetratech.com

James R. Craig, Ph.D., P.Eng.
University of Waterloo
Canada
jrcraig@uwaterloo.ca

Frederick D. Day-Lewis, Ph.D.
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Richland, Washington
fdaylewis@gmail.com

Mindy L. Erickson, Ph.D., PE
U.S. Geological Survey, Upper Midwest Science Center
Mounds View, Minnesota
merickso@usgs.gov

Grant Ferguson, Ph.D.
St. Francis Xavier University
Canada
gferguso@stfx.ca

Michael N. Fienen, Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey, Wisconsin Water Science Center
Middleton, Wisconsin
mnfienen@usgs.gov

Michael J. Gefell, PG, CPG
Anchor QEA LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
mgefell@anchorqea.com

Chris Gellasch, Ph.D.
Eastern Michigan University
Ypsilanti, Michigan
chris.gellasch@emich.edu

Nico Goldscheider, Ph.D. 
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology 
Karlsruhe, Germany 
goldscheider@kit.edu

Daren C. Gooddy, Ph.D.
British Geological Survey
United Kingdom
dcg@bgs.ac.uk

Weixing Guo, Ph.D.
Groundwater Tek Inc.
Naples, Florida
wguo@groundwatertek.com

Zhilin Guo, Ph.D.
Southern University of Science and Technology
Shenzhen, China
guozl@sustech.edu.cn

John H. Guswa, Ph.D.
JG Environmental Inc.
Boxborough, Massachusetts 
Jguswa@jgenvironmental.com

Landon Halloran, Ph.D.
University of Neuchâtel
Neuchâtel, Switzerland
landon.halloran@unine.ch

David John Hart
Wisconsin Geological and Natural History Survey
Madison, Wisconsin
djhart@wisc.edu​

Ellen Herman, Ph.D.
Bucknell University
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
ekh008@bucknell.edu

Randy J. Hunt Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey

Dylan Irvine, Ph.D.
Charles Darwin University
Australia
dylan.irvine@cdu.edu.au

Tim Johnson, Ph.D.
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Richland, Washington
TJ@pnnl.gov

M. Wojciech Kawecki, Ph.D.
Saudi Aramco
Groundwater Division
Saudi Arabia
kaweckmw@aramco.com.sa

Jeff Kennedy, Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey
Flagstaff, Arizona
jkennedy@usgs.gov

Eve L. Kuniansky, PE 
U.S. Geological Survey 
elkunian@usgs.gov 

Christian Langevin, Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey
Minneapolis, Minnesota
langevin@usgs.gov

Melissa E. Lenczewski, Ph.D.
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, Illinois
melissa@geol.niu.edu

Norman Levine, Ph.D.
College of Charleston
Charleston, South Carolina
LevineN@cofc.edu

David S. Lipson, Ph.D.
HRS Water Consultants Inc. 
Lakewood, Colorado
dlipson@hrswater.com

Ganming Liu, Ph.D.
Bowling Green State University 
Bowling Green, Ohio 
gliu@bgsu.edu​

Bettina Longino, Ph.D.
Arcadis
Clifton Park, New York
bettina.longino@arcadis.com

Robert G. Maliva, Ph.D.
WSP USA
Fort Myers, Florida
Robert.Maliva@wsp.com

Costantino Masciopinto
CNR-IRSA
Water Research Institute
Italy
costantino.masciopinto@ba.irsa.cnr.it

John E. McCray, Ph.D.
Colorado School of Mines 
Golden, Colorado 
jmccray@mines.edu​

Steffen Mehl, Ph.D.
California State University, Chico
Chico, California
swmehl@usgs.gov

June E. Mirecki, Ph.D., PG&
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Jacksonville, Florida
June.E.Mirecki@usace.army.mil

Louis Motz, Ph.D.
University Of Florida
Gainesville, Florida
lmotz@ce.ufl.edu

Maureen Muldoon, Ph.D.
Wisconsin Geological and Natural History Survey
Madison, Wisconsin
muldoon@wisc.edu

Francisco Munoz-Arriola, Ph.D.
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lincoln, Nebraska
fmunoz@unl.edu

Jean-Philippe Nicot, Ph.D.
Bureau of Economic Geology, University of Texas in Austin
Austin, Texas
jp.nicot@beg.utexas.edu

Andrew M. O’Reilly, Ph.D.
USDA — Agricultural Research Service
Oxford, Mississippi
andrew.oreilly@usda.gov

Frederick L. Paillet, Ph.D.
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, Arkansas
fredp@cox.net

Tom Perina, Ph.D., PG, CHG
CB&I Federal Services
Irvine, California
tomas.perina@cbifederalservices.com

Jerome Perrin, Ph.D. 
BRGM 
Orléans, France 
je.perrin@brgm.fr​

Alden Provost, Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey
Reston, Virginia
aprovost@usgs.gov

Rachel Rotz, Ph.D.
Florida Gulf Coast University
Fort Myers, Florida
rrotz@fgcu.edu

Christopher J. Russoniello, Ph.D.
University of Rhode Island
Kingston, Rhode Island
chris.russoniello@uri.edu

Gregory Schnaar, Ph.D.
Daniel B. Stephens & Associates Inc. 
Goleta, California 
gschnaar@dbstephens.com 

Martin H. Schroth, Ph.D.
ETH Zurich
Institute of Biogeochemistry and Pollutant Dynamics
Switzerland
martin.schroth@env.ethz.ch

Marcia Schulmeister, Ph.D., PG
University of Kansas
Lawrence, Kansas
mschulme@ku.edu

Craig T. Simmons, Ph.D.
Flinders University
Australia
craig.simmons@flinders.edu.au

Paul Stackelberg
U.S. Geological Survey
Water Resources Mission Area, Troy, New York
pestack@usgs.gov

Randy Stotler, Ph.D.
University of Waterloo
Canada

Nicole T. Sweetland, Ph.D., PG
Daniel B. Stephens & Associates Inc.
Goleta, California
nsweetland@dbstephens.com

Steve Thornton, Ph.D. 
University of Sheffield 
United Kingdom 
s.f.thornton@sheffield.ac.uk 

Frank T.C. Tsai, Ph.D., PE 
Louisiana State University 
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 
ftsai@lsu.edu

Guangcai Wang, Ph.D.
China University of Geosciences, Beijing
Beijing, China
wanggc@pku.edu.cn

Lichun Wang, Ph.D.
Tianjin University
China
wanglichun@tju.edu.cn

Quanrong Wang, Ph.D.
China University of Geosciences
China

Jeremy White, Ph.D.
Intera Inc.
Boulder, Colorado
jwhite@intera.com

Tianfang Xu, Ph.D.
Arizona State University
Tempe, Arizona
tianfang.xu@asu.edu

Jianwen Yang, Ph.D.
University of Windsor
Canada
jianweny@uwindsor.ca

Ming Ye, Ph.D.
Florida State University
Tallahassee, Florida
mye@fsu.edu

Willem Jan Zaadnoordijk
Delft University of Technology
Netherlands
WillemJan.Zaadnoordijk@KWRwater.nl

Jim Zhang, Ph.D., PE
AECOM
Oakland, California
jim.zhang@aecom.com

Yong Zhang
University of Alabama 
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
yzhang264@ua.edu

Junfeng Zhu, Ph.D.
University of Kentucky
junfeng.zhu@uky.edu​

Vitaly Zlotnik, Ph.D.
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lincoln, Nebraska
vzlotnik1@unl.edu