Groundwater
 

Editor-in-Chief

haitemaHendrik M. Haitjema, Ph.D.
Indiana University
gweditor@indiana.edu

Hendrik M. Haitjema, Ph.D.,  joined Indiana University in 1984 where he served as a professor at the School of Public and Environmental Affairs until August 2012.  He taught, among other subjects, groundwater flow modeling and applied mathematics.

Haitjema has a specialization in groundwater hydrology.  His research interests include both the development and application of mathematical models for regional groundwater flow systems, three-dimensional groundwater flow embedded in two-dimensional flow models (Dupuit-Forchheimer models), fresh and salt water interface flow, transit time distributions in watersheds, and the conjunctive modeling of surface water and groundwater flow.  The emphasis in his research is on the application of analytic functions in modeling groundwater flow, the Analytic Element Method (AEM).

He published the analytic element model “GFLOW” in 1994 and the book Analytic Element Modeling of Groundwater Flow in 1995.  He also published on the performance of the finite difference code MODFLOW and developed a hybrid GFLOW-MODFLOW modeling approach.

Haitjema received his master’s degree in civil engineering from the Technical University of Delft, The Netherlands in 1976 and his Ph.D. in civil engineering from the University of Minnesota in 1982.  He regularly serves as a consultant to professionals and the public.

Executive Editors

Thomas M. Missimer, Ph.D.
Florida Gulf Coast University 
tmissimer@fgcu.edu

missimer-web

Thomas M. Missimer, Ph.D., is a visiting professor of environmental science and engineering at the Florida Golf Coast University and president of Missimer Inc., a groundwater consulting firm.

He has 40 years of experience in hydrogeology, beginning his career as a hydrologist with the U.S. Geological Survey.  He spent a year at the Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science, University of Miami, and then worked as a consultant for the next 34 years.  He founded three consulting firms and merged or sold each company.  He has been in academia for the past three years.

His current research includes development of wastewater aquifer storage and recovery (ASR) projects using wadi aquifers, the use of natural filtration for water treatment, development of strategic storage ASR projects to mitigate global climate change and for emergency water use, subsurface intakes systems for seawater desalination facilities, the development of geothermal energy resources in the Middle East region using hot-dry rock heat harvesting and combining it with seawater desalination, development of new empirical methods for estimating hydraulic conductivity from grains size distribution, and the effects of dust deposition on soil hydraulic properties.

He is the author of eight books.  He has a master’s degree in geology from Florida State University and a Ph.D. in marine geology and geophysics from the University of Miami.

 

Robert Schincariol
University of Western Ontario
schincar@uwo.ca

schincariol-webRobert A. Schincariol, Ph.D., is a professor of hydrogeology, cross-appointed to the departments of earth sciences and civil and environmental engineering at the University of Western Ontario.

Schincariol previously served as editor and discussions editor for Groundwater® (2011-2013) and associate editor for the Canadian Geotechnical Journal (2002-2007).

His research interests are in physical hydrogeology with a focus on heat transport, low-temperature geothermal energy, permafrost hydrogeology, and variable-density flow.  Typically, projects involve the coupling of laboratory, field, and numerical modeling studies.  He teaches courses in watershed hydrology, physical and chemical hydrogeology, and groundwater flow modeling.

He received his master’s of science degree in geology from the University of Alberta and a Ph.D. in geological sciences from The Ohio State University.  He regularly serves as a consultant to government and industry.

 

Yu-Feng Forrest Lin, Ph.D.
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
yflin@illinois.edu

linYu-Feng Forrest Lin, Ph.D. is a hydrogeologist at the Illinois State Geological Survey, Prairie Research Institute, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and previously served as Associate Editor (2011-2016) and Technology Editor (2014-2016) for Groundwater®. 

His current research interests include groundwater and surface water interactions, hydrogeological effects on geothermal exchange, environmental impacts associated with geologic carbon sequestration, and numerical modeling for groundwater flow systems.

He is a licensed professional geoscientist and certified geographic information systems professional.  He is also a clinical professor in the department of civil and environmental engineering and a research professor in the department of natural resources and environmental sciences at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. 

Lin received his B.S. in water resources and environmental engineering from Tamkang University in Taiwan, his M.S. in civil and environmental engineering from the University of Connecticut, and his Ph.D. in geological engineering from the University of Wisconsin–Madison.

Advisors to the editor-in-chief

Randy J. Hunt, Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey

Eileen Poeter, Ph.D.
Poeter Engineering and Emerita Professor Colorado School of Mines

James O. Rumbaugh
Environmental Simulations Inc.

Franklin W. Schwartz, Ph.D.
The Ohio State University

Book editor

Alan E. Fryar 
University of Kentucky 
Lexington, Kentucky 
alan.fryar@uky.edu

History editor

David Deming
University of Oklahoma
Norman, Oklahoma
ddeming@ou.edu

Discussion editor

Stephen R. Kraemer, Ph.D.
U.S. EPA, Office of Research and Development
Kraemer.Stephen@epa.gov

Technology editor

Mike Gefell, PG, CPG
Anchor, QEA LLC
mgefell@anchorqea.com​

Associate editors

Daniel Abrams, Ph.D. 
University of Illinois 
Champaign, Illinois 
dbabrams@illinois.edu

Charles Andrews, Ph.D. 
S.S. Papadoupulos & Associates Inc. 
Bethesda, MD 
candrews@sspa.com

Mark Bakker, Ph.D.
Delft University of Technology
The Netherlands
markbak@gmail.com

Matthew W. Becker, Ph.D.
California State University, Long Beach
Long Beach, California
mbecker3@csulb.edu

Philip Binning, Ph.D.
Technical University of Denmark
Denmark
pjb@er.dtu.dk

Steffan Birk, Ph.D.
University of Graz
Austria
steffen.birk@uni-graz.at

Andrea E. Brookfield 
Kansas Geological Survey 
Lawrence, Kansas 
andrea@kgs.ku.edu

Serge Brouyere, Ph.D.
University of Liege
Belgium
serge.brouyere@ulg.ac.be

Claudius M. Bürger, Ph.D. 
Shell Global Solutions International B.V. 
Netherlands 
Claudius.Burger@shell.com

James J. Butler Jr., Ph.D.
Kansas Geological Survey 
Lawrence, Kansas
jbutler@kgs.ukans.edu

Peter Cook, Ph.D.
CSIRO Land and Water
Australia
peter.cook@adl.dwr.csiro.au

James R. Craig, Ph.D., P.Eng.
University of Waterloo
Canada
jrcraig@uwaterloo.ca

Frederick D. Day-Lewis, Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey, Office of Groundwater, Branch of Geophysics
Storrs, CT
daylewis@usgs.gov

Jiasong Fang 
Hawaii Pacific University 
Kaneohe, Hawaii 
jfang@hpu.edu 

Grant Ferguson, Ph.D.
St. Francis Xavier University
Canada
gferguso@stfx.ca

Ty Ferre, Ph.D. 
University of Arizona 
tyferre@gmail.com​

Michael N. Fienen, Ph.D.
USGS Wisconsin Water Science Center
Middleton, WI
mnfienen@usgs.gov

Mike Gefell, PG, CPG
Anchor, QEA LLC
mgefell@anchorqea.com​​

Daren C. Gooddy, Ph.D.
British Geological Survey
United Kingdom
dcg@bgs.ac.uk

Nico Goldscheider, Ph.D. 
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology 
Karlsruhe, Germany 
goldscheider@kit.edu

John H. Guswa, Ph.D.
JG Environmental Inc.
Boxborough, Massachusetts 
Jguswa@jgenvironmental.com

David John Hart 
Wisconsin Geological and Natural History Survey 
Madison, Wisconsin 
djhart@wisc.edu​

Li He, Ph.D.
Ryerson University
Canada
li.he@ryserson.ca

Randy J. Hunt Ph.D. 
U.S. Geological Survey 

Scott C. James, Ph.D.
Sandia National Laboratories
Albuquerque, New Mexico
scjames@sandia.gov

Todd Jarvis, Ph.D.
Oregon State University
Corvallis, Oregon
jarvisto@engr.orst.edu

M. Wojciech Kawecki, Ph.D.
Saudi Aramco
Groundwater Division
Saudi Arabia
kaweckmw@aramco.com.sa

Elizabeth Keating, Ph.D.
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Los Alamos, New Mexico
ekeating@lanl.gov

Eve L. Kuniansky, PE 
U.S. Geological Survey 
elkunian@usgs.gov 

Christian Langevin, Ph.D.
USGS
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
langevin@usgs.gov

Melissa E. Lenczewski, Ph.D.
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, Illinois
melissa@geol.niu.edu

Shu-Guang Li, Ph.D., PE
Michigan State University
East Lansing, Michigan
lishug@egr.msu.edu

David S. Lipson, Ph.D.
HRS Water Consultants Inc. 
Lakewood, Colorado 
dlipson@hrswater.com

Ganming Liu, Ph.D. 
Bowling Green State University 
Bowling Green, Ohio 
gliu@bgsu.edu​

Bettina Longino, Ph.D.
The Johnson Co. Inc.
Montpelier, Vermont
blongino@jcomail.com

Chris Lowry, Ph.D. 
University at Buffalo 
cslowry@buffalo.edu 
Buffalo, New York 

Kenneth Luther, Ph.D.
Valparaiso University
Valparaiso, Indiana
ken.luther@valpo.edu

Robert G. Maliva, Ph.D.
Schlumberger Water Services
Fort Myers, Florida
rmaliva@slb.com

Jonathan B. Martin, Ph.D.
University of Florida
Gainsville, Florida 
jmartin@geology.ufl.edu

Costantino Masciopinto
CNR-IRSA
Water Research Institute
Italy
costantino.masciopinto@ba.irsa.cnr.it

John E. McCray, Ph.D.
Colorado School of Mines 
Golden, Colorado 
jmccray@mines.edu​ 

Steffen Mehl, Ph.D.
California State University, Chico
Chico, California
swmehl@usgs.gov

June E. Mirecki, Ph.D., PG 
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 
Jacksonville, FL 
June.E.Mirecki@usace.army.mil

Louis Motz, Ph.D. 
University Of Florida 
Gainesville, Florida 
lmotz@ce.ufl.edu

Jean-Philippe Nicot, Ph.D.
Bureau of Economic Geology, The University of Texas in Austin
Austin, Texas
jp.nicot@beg.utexas.edu

Frederick L. Paillet, Ph.D.
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, Arkansas
fredp@cox.net

Samuel Panno
Illinois State Geological Survey
Champaign, Illinois
panno@isgs.uiuc.edu

Tom Perina, Ph.D., PG, CHG
CB&I Federal Services 
Irvine, California 
tomas.perina@cbifederalservices.com

Jerome Perrin, Ph.D. 
BRGM 
Orléans, France 
je.perrin@brgm.fr​

Michael Riley
University of Birmingham
United Kingdom
m.riley@bham.ac.uk

Tim Schiebe, Ph.D.
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Richland, Washington 
tim.schiebe@pnl.gov

Gregory Schnaar, Ph.D.
Daniel B. Stephens & Associates Inc. 
Goleta, California 
gschnaar@dbstephens.com 

Martin H. Schroth, Ph.D.
ETH Zrich
Institute of Biogeochemistry and Pollutant Dynamics
Switzerland
martin.schroth@env.ethz.ch

Nick Sepulveda, Ph.D.
USGS
Orlando, Florida
nsepul@usgs.gov

Craig T. Simmons, Ph.D.
Flinders University
Australia
craig.simmons@flinders.edu.au

Birgit Steinich, Ph.D. 
San Luis Potosi Institute of Scientific Research and Technology Mexico 
birgit.steinich@ipicyt.edu.mx

Randy Stotler, Ph.D.
The University of Kansas 
rstotler@ku.edu

Nicole T. Sweetland, Ph.D., PG
Daniel B. Stephens & Associates Inc.
Goleta, California
nsweetland@dbstephens.com

Steve Thornton, Ph.D. 
University of Sheffield 
United Kingdom 
s.f.thornton@sheffield.ac.uk 

Claire Tiedeman
USGS–WRD
Menlo Park, California 
tiedeman@usgs.gov

Laura Toran, Ph.D.
Temple University
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 
ltoran@nimbus.temple.edu

Frank T.C. Tsai, Ph.D., PE 
Louisiana State University 
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 
ftsai@lsu.edu

Guangcai Wang, Ph.D.
China University of Geosciences, Beijing
Beijing, China
wanggc@pku.edu.cn

Adam S. Ward, Ph.D., PE 
University of Iowa 
adam-ward@uiowa.edu

Tamie Weaver, Ph.D.
ERM Melbourne
Australia
tamie.weaver@erm.com

Tao Yang, Ph.D. 
Hohai University 
China 
yang.tao@ms.xjb.ac.cn

Hund-Der Yeh, Ph.D.
National Chiao Tung University
Taiwan
hdyeh@mail.nctu.edu.tw

Willem Jan Zaadnoordijk 
Delft University of Technology 
Netherlands 
WillemJan.Zaadnoordijk@KWRwater.nl

Jim Zhang, Ph.D.
URS Corp.
Oakland, California
jim_zhang@urscorp.com

Yong Zhang 
Desert Research Institute 
Las Vegas, Nevada 
Yong.Zhang@dri.edu

You-Kuan Zhang, Ph.D.
University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa
you-khan-zhang@uiowa.edu

Junfeng Zhu, Ph.D. 
University of Kentucky 
junfeng.zhu@uky.edu​

Vitaly Zlotnik, Ph.D.
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lincoln, Nebraska
vzlotnik1@unl.edu