NGWA announces 2020 industry award winners

August 14, 2020

NGWA congratulates the recipients of its 2020 Awards of Excellence, Outstanding Groundwater Project Awards, and Sectional Awards, which will be presented this December during Groundwater Week in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Long-time NGWA member John Pitz, NGWAF, is the recipient of NGWA’s most prestigious award, the Ross L. Oliver Award for outstanding contributions to the groundwater industry. Pitz is president of N.L. Pitz Inc. in Batavia, Illinois.

Additional 2020 NGWA award recipients follow.

Awards of Excellence

  • James Butler Jr., Ph.D., senior scientist and chief of the Geohydrology Section of the Kansas Geological Survey at the University of Kansas — M. King Hubbert Award
  • David Henrich, CWD/PI, CVCLD, president, Bergerson-Caswell Inc., Maple Plain, Minnesota — Robert Storm Intersectional Cooperation Award and Standard Bearer Award
  • Mike Barcelona, Ph.D., emeritus professor, Western Michigan University — Life Member Award
  • Francis Weedon, president/owner of Frontier Logging Corp., Oklahoma City, Oklahoma — Technology Award
  • Marcia Degan, Ph.D., PE, technical services manager at Virginia Department of Health, Roanoke, Virginia — Special Recognition Award
  • Jeffrey Smith, MGWC, Smith Well Drilling, and Janice Hawk-Baldwin, CWD/PI, Hawk Well Co. — Special Recognition Award

Outstanding Groundwater Project Awards

  • Daniel B. Stephens & Associates Inc. — Albuquerque Bernalillo County Water Utility Authority DWTP Large-Scale Recharge Project — Groundwater Supply Award
  • Geosyntec Consultants — Launch Ready! High-Resolution Site Characterization and the Expedited Remediation of a Multi-Acre Chlorinated Volatile Organic Compound Plume at NASA’s Launch Complex 39B — Groundwater Remediation Award
  • Golder Associates, S.S. Papadopulos & Associates Inc., and Arcadis — Rapid Response and Remediation of Wellfield with Perchlorate, City of Evart, Michigan — Groundwater Remediation Award

Sectional Awards

  • Ronald Falta, Ph.D., professor, Clemson University, Clemson South Carolina — John Hem Award for Excellence in Science & Engineering
  • Neil Thomson, Ph.D., P.Eng., professor, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada — Keith E Anderson Award
  • Dean Wygal, senior technical sales manager, Western Region at Grundfos Americas Corp., Wilsonville, Oregon — Manufacturers Section Special Recognition Award
  • Ronnie Hensley, director of engineered water, Gicon Pumps and Equipment Ltd., Abernathy, Texas — Supplier of the Year Award

Read more about NGWA awards, which honor the best of the best in the groundwater industry, at